Aller sur la page 1 2 »
Auteur Message
myrkraverk
Sujet du message : Request: New Software Ideas
Publié : 28 juin 2021 02:50
Membre inscrit
Hors-ligne

Dear win3x,

I am a programmer with tools to create Windows 3.x programs; however, I am bad at coming up with ideas for simple graphical programs. My interest usually lie in behaviour, not looks, so command line tools are good enough for my own coding adventures.

What kind of simple programs would people like? Keep in mind that I am most likely to do things that I find interesting, so don't feel bad if I say "no" to some ideas.

Thanks.

Profil Citer
Deksor
Sujet du message : Re: Request: New Software Ideas
Publié : 28 juin 2021 12:49
Membre d'honneur
Hors-ligne

PC Rétro : 486DX 33 8mo SB Pro 2, P2 450 128mo Voodoo 2 SLI

This is very interesting !

However I feel like most simple and useful things already have been done in windows 3.x a long time ago.

The only things I can think of are much more complex and graphically demanding projects (like a proper web browser, because those made for 3.x are horrible, even for the standards of that era. They crash when images are too big, they have issues downloading stuff, etc. Their 32 bit counterparts don't have these issues)

WatlersWorld made drivers for newer things, but I don't think this is simple either.

Profil Citer
myrkraverk
Publié : 28 juin 2021 20:37
Membre inscrit
Hors-ligne

Yes, a browser is not going to be my first task. In fact, while possible, maybe, it's one of those tasks that will never get done properly without funding. The OS/2 community is spending a lot of effort on it, and they have funding, so for them it's feasible.

Replicating simple apps so it can be extended, either by me, or someone else, is also a worthwhile task.

My own interests lie in algorithms and behaviour, not looks, so it's not that easy for me to come up with ideas that aren't just DOS tools.

So, what do you want to see, either new or replicated?

Profil Citer
Deksor